Lilongwe, 11 January 2022 (TDI): South African President, Cyril Ramaphosa, will participate in two Summits of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) in Malawi. He, as Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defense, and Security Cooperation will address different topics on Tuesday and Wednesday, 11 and 12 January.

SADC and its regional importance

First of all, the SADC is an organization of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC). Besides, in August 1992, it transformed into the southern African Development Community (SADC).

Along these lines, the mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development. This through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation, and integration, good governance, and durable peace and security.

Therefore the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy.

In addition, the 16 Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, and Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini and Lesotho. There is also Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

President Ramaphosa to attend SADC Extraordinary Summits in Malawi

On the other hand, President Ramaphosa will participate in the SADC Extraordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government. It will be hold on Wednesday, 12 January 2022 and chaired by Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, President Malawi.

Extraordinary SADC Summit 2022
Extraordinary SADC Summit 20M

In that way, according to a statement issued by the SADC Secretariat, Cyril Ramaphosa,  will in 11 January 2022, convene an Extraordinary SADC Organ Troika Summit. This is before the Extraordinary summit of heads of state and heads of government.

Therefore, the SADC Organ on Politics Defense and Security is responsible for promoting peace and security in the SADC region. It mandate to steer and provide Member states with the direction regarding matters that threaten peace, security, and stability.

Thus, it coordinates at the level of Summit, consisting of a Chairperson, incoming Chairperson, and Outgoing Chairperson. Besides, they made reports to the SADC Summit Chairperson.

Thus, South African President will convene an Extraordinary SADC Organ Troika Summit plus the Personnel Contributing Countries (PCCS) and the Republic of Mozambique. In this case, the Extraordinary Summit comprises Heads of State and Government from Organ Troika members namely.

These are Botswana, Namibia, and South Africa which will attend to the meetings in the Republic of Mozambique. Likewise, the Personnel Contributing Countries from SADC are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, among others. 

In summary, the SADC Troika Summit will review the progress of the SADC Mission in Mozambique (SAMIM). This deployed by the Summit to support Mozambique. Particularly to combat terrorism and acts of violent extremism. 

SADC Mission in Mozambique

Furthermore, the SADC Mission in Mozambique (SAMIM) deployed on 15 July 2021 was held in Maputo, the Republic of Mozambique on 23 June 2021. This, a regional response to support the Republic of Mozambique, works to combat terrorism and acts of violent extremism. 

So that, its mandate includes supporting Mozambique in the areas of violent extremism in Cabo Delgado. Especially to neutralize the terrorist threat and restore security to create a safe environment. Not to mention, its objective to strengthen and maintain peace and security trough the restore of law and order in affected areas. 

In addition, it collaborates with humanitarian agencies to continue providing humanitarian relief to populations affected by terrorist activities, including internally displaced persons (IDPs).

Moreover, the SAMIM is supported by the Regional Coordination Mechanism (RCM) which reports to the Head of Mission and the SADC Executive Secretary.

Finally, SAMIM comprises troops deployed from eight (8) Personnel Contributing Countries from SADC. These are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, and Zambia.

They all work in collaboration with the Forças Armadas de Defesa de Moçambique (FADM) and other troops deployed to Cabo Delgado. The main reason is to combat acts of terrorism and violent extremism.