Dubai, 12 September 2022 (TDI): Sri Lankan cricket team becomes the Asian Champion after defeating Pakistan in the final on 11 September in Dubai. Sri Lanka received wishes from all over the world on becoming the Asian Champion.

Sri Lanka has become the Asian Champion for the 6th time in the history of the Asia Cup. The Sri Lankan team has played in 11 finals of the Asia Cup and won 6 of them. Out of these 11, 4 were against Pakistan.

Playing XI of both teams

Pakistan team played with Babar Azam (C), Muhammad Rizwan (WK), Fakhar Zaman, Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Haris Rauf, Muhammad Hasnain and Naseem Shah.

Sri Lankan team included Dasun Shanaka (C), Kusal Mendis (WK), Pathum Nissanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya De Silva, Dilshan Madhushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Chameera Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana and Pramod Madushan.

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bowl first. Sri Lankan openers did not perform well. Sri Lanka lost 3 wickets in the powerplay.

Then came Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Wanindu Hasaranga, who anchored the Sri Lankan innings and took Sri Lanka to 170 in their allotted 20 overs.

In response, Pakistan also lost two early wickets. But Iftikhar Ahmed and Muhammad Rizwan played well and took the team score to 93. After that, the wickets started falling one after the other, and the Pakistan team was eventually bowled out at 147.

Also Read: Sri Lanka reaches Asia Cup Final

Sri Lanka won the final easily by 23 runs. Bhanuka Rajapaksa was Player of the Match while Wanindu Hasaranga was awarded Player of the Tournament.

Wishes from all over the world

Sri Lanka received wishes from all over the world on claiming the Asia Cup title for the 6th time. India wished Sri Lanka on that occasion.

Moreover, many cricket stars from all over the world also wished Sri Lanka on the great victory and become the champions of the Asia Cup 2022.

The Sri Lankan team won their first major ICC title since 2014 with their brilliant performance against Pakistan. The President of Sri Lanka, Mahinda Rajapaksa, also wished the Sri Lankan cricket team on becoming the Asian Champion.