Riyadh, 21 June 2022 (TDI): Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince, Mohammad bin Salman began a regional tour on Monday by first arriving in the Egyptian capital of Cairo, Crown Prince is also scheduled to visit Jordan and Turkiye before concluding his regional tour.

This visit by Crown Prince comes just ahead of United States President, Joe Biden’s, regional visit in July in which he is also scheduled to visit the Saudi Kingdom.

As per the statement released by Saudi Arabia’s Foreign Ministry, directives were given by the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, to Crown Prince to visit Egypt, Jordan, and Turkey in response to invitations extended to Saudi Crown Prince.

Visit to Egypt

Saudi Crown Prince landed in Cairo on Monday night, President Abdel-Fattah el-Sisi of Egypt received the Prince at the airport, a courtesy to the de-facto leader of Saudi Arabia who is a steady financial backer of the Egyptian government.

Crown Prince is expected to hold talks with the leaders of Egypt. Egyptian President and Crown Prince are scheduled to hold talks in the country’s Presidential Palace.

Earlier this year, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) pledged a total of $22 billion in the form of deposits and direct investments in Egypt in a bid to stabilize its battered economy after Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

The Crown Prince after meeting the Egyptian dignitaries will depart for a visit to Jordan for talks with its monarch, Abdullah King II, also a close ally of Saudi Arabia.

The Crown Prince’s talks in Cairo and Amman aim at coordinating their position on key issues, Saudi officials told media last week ahead of a joint Summit with US President in Jeddah next month.

The summit will also include Iraq’s prime minister and other Gulf leaders.

After completing his visit to Jordan, Mohammad bin Salman will travel to Turkiye to meet with President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. President Erdogan visited Saudi Arabia in April for the first time in five years to repair ties between the two countries.