Brasilia, 31 October 2022 (TDI): Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva becomes the President of Brazil after winning the Brazilian general elections in 2022. He received 50.89 percent of the votes and defeated the incumbent President Jair Bolsonaro.

Lula de Silva is a former two-time President as he won in 2003 and 2011. His campaign for the 2022 general elections was based on democratic values.

World Leaders congratulate Lula de Silva

World leaders have reacted to the election of Lula de Silva and congratulated him on his victory. Leaders around the globe have praised the conduct of general elections in Brazil.

US President Joe Biden appreciated the conduct of fair and free elections in the country while congratulating Lula de Silva, “I send my congratulations to Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva on his election to be the next president of Brazil following free, fair, and credible elections.

I look forward to working together to continue the cooperation between our two countries in the months and years ahead.”

Also read: Brazilian General Elections 2022 

The Prime Minister of Canada Justin Trudeau expressed his commitment to work further with Braandwith the newly elected government, “The people of Brazil have spoken.

I’m looking forward to working with Lula de Silva to strengthen our countries’ partnership, deliver results for Canadians and Brazilians, and advance shared priorities — like protecting the environment. Congratulations, Lula!”

President of the European Union (EU) Commission Ursula von der Leyen congratulated the new president of Brazil and reaffirmed the commitment to address global challenges.

The Prime Minister of Pakistan extended his wishes to the newly elected President and expressed aspiration to work for enhancing bilateral ties.

Leaders from South America and the Latin American region have also congratulated the new president including Argentinian President Alberto Fernandez, Chile’s President Gabriel Boric Font, Mexican President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador, Colombian President Gustavo Petro, Ecuador President Guillermo Lasso, Bolivian President Luis Alberto Arce Catacora and Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro.