Islamabad, 3 February 2022 (TDI): COMSTECH, the Ministerial Standing Committee on Scientific and Technological Cooperation of the OIC, Islamabad, Pakistan announced Award Winners of 2021 in nine categories.

COMSTECH bequeathed two-lifetime achievement awards in the fields of Chemistry and Biology, this year. Professor Dr. Muhammad Ashraf, Pro-Rector, Professor, Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, The University of Lahore, won the lifetime achievement award in Biology.

Whilst, Ali A. Mosavi-Movahadi, Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of Tehran, Shiraz, Iran won the COMSTECH lifetime achievement award in Chemistry.

Aside from lifetime achievement awards, other awards were also bestowed upon exceptional performers. In this regard, Shah Fahd won COMSTECH young researcher award. He is from the Department of Agronomy, The University of Haripur, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan.

Esmael Ghavanloo, Associate Professor, Shiraz University, Shiraz, Iran was awarded for the best scientific book. While the COMSTECH award for best patent was awarded to Azrul Azlan Hamzah.

Azrul Azlan Hamzah belongs to the Institute of Microengineering and Nanoelectronics, Universiti Kebangsaan, Malaysia. In addition, the COMSTECH award for best research paper in Biology was conferred upon Fahad Alsohime.

Fahad Alsohime is from King Saud University in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. The award for the best research paper in Chemistry went to Mustafa Kemal Beyazit of Sabanci University, Nanotechnology Research & Application Centre, Tuzla, Istanbul, Turkey.

Hala El Saka of Damietta University, New Damietta, Egypt was awarded the COMSTECH award for best research paper in Mathematics. Khondoker Nazmoon Nabi from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Dhaka, Bangladesh also received the same award.

Lastly, Mohd Ikmar Nizam Bin Hj. Mohamad Isa, Faculty of Science & Technology, Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia won for the best research paper in Physics.

The biennially conferred COMSTECH Awards recognize the outstanding research work carried out by scientists who are citizens of and working in, OIC member states.

The awards are given to representatives from ‘Basic Sciences’ and in ‘Excellence in Science and Technology.’ Each award is comprised of a certificate, shield of honor as well as a cash prize.

The awards will be bequeathed by the President of Islamic Republic Pakistan/ Chairman COMSTECH to the winners. This will happen in the forthcoming General Assembly meeting of COMSTECH which will be held in Islamabad.