Astana, 14 October 2022 (TDI): Prime Minister of Pakistan, Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif met the President of Tajikistan, Emamoli Rahmon on the sidelines of the 6th CICA Summit in Astana Kazakhstan on 13th October 2022.

Pakistan-Tajikistan Ties

The Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the Republic of Tajikistan established diplomatic ties on June 6, 1992. Pakistan and Tajikistan have been working together since 1991.

The Islamic Republic of Pakistan established an Embassy in the Republic of Tajikistan in 1993, and its operations got underway in the early months of 1994.

Through coordinated efforts, bilateral cooperation between the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the Republic of Tajikistan is advancing.

The President of the Republic of Tajikistan visited the Islamic Republic of Pakistan seven times throughout their 27-year relationship (March 1994, 1996, 1997, May 12-14, 2004, March 7-10, 2011, November 12-13, 2015, and 2 -3 June 2021).

Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA)

CICA is a multinational organization with the objective of collaboration for stability, security, and peace throughout Asia.

It is based on the understanding that there is a close-knit connection between stability, peace, and security in Asia and the rest of the globe.

Nursultan Nazarbayev, the President of Kazakhstan, first suggested the concept of holding CICA on October 5, 1992, during the 47th session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).

The driving force behind this initiative was the need to establish an effective and acceptable system for ensuring peace and security in Asia.

CICA Member states are Azerbaijan, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Egypt, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkiye, UAE, and Uzbekistan.

The CICA Observer States are Belarus, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and the USA.

The Observer Organizations include the International Organization for Migration (IOM), the United Nations (UN), the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the League of Arab States (LAS), and the Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic States (TURKPA).