Lima, 30 August 2022 (TDI): The Foreign Minister of Peru, Miguel Angel Rodriguez Mackay received high-level officials from Ecuador and Colombia.

The President of Ecuador, Guillermo Lasso, and the Foreign Minister of Ecuador, Juan Carlos Holguin received first.

Minister of Production, Julio Jose Prado was also received by the Foreign Minister of Peru while welcoming the delegation of the government of Ecuador. The Peruvian Foreign Minister, Rodriguez Mackay also received the high-level delegation of Colombia.

The Foreign Minister of Colombia, Alvaro Leyva Duran will be attending the important event in Peru along with the President of Colombia, Gustavo Petro.

Presidency Transfer of Andean Community

The important event of Andean Community also known as Comunidad Andina (CAN) was conducted in Lima, Peru on 29 August 2022. It is reported that the transfer of the Presidency of this community will be followed.

Andean Community is a free trade organization and works as a trade bloc of the South American states like Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru. In 1969, the Andean Community was formed.

It was estimated by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 2017 that the regional organization has a GDP of US$ 902.86 billion.

Read More: Andean Community to meet in Quito

Secretary-General of the Andean Community, Jorge H. Pedraza announced that a meeting among the leaders of all the Andean states will happen. The meeting will happen at the Headquarters of the Andean Community in Lima, Peru.

There will be the announcement of the transfer of the presidency of the Andean Community. Other important events will also happen at the headquarters. The Pro-Tempore Presidency’s transfer will be announced in the “XXII Andean Presidential Council”.

Moreover, on 26 August 2022, Peru’s President Pedro Castillo announced the preparation for the transfer of presidency. He also visited the headquarters of the organization and met the officials of the Andean Community.