New York, 20 August 2022 (TDI): The International Human Rights Foundation (IHRF) shared its official statement about the Election in Kenya through its Twitter handle.

The IHRF underscored that “preserving peace is everyone’s commitment.” Regardless of political inclinations, it is critical to maintain calm at all times and prevent confrontational behaviour.

It was further enunciated that “Let us appreciate and respect our peers, regardless of their ideas or votes. We are all responsible, as individuals and institutions, for the social tension created by current events and their reflection in the media and social networks.”

We are all called to conduct the diversity of thought in an entirely peaceful and democratic manner.” The IHRF has urged people to remain calm and believes in the power of democratic institutions.

Along these lines, it has urged that “Let us all stand up for peace and human dignity at all times, rejecting insults, attacks, and calls to hatred.”

General Election of Kenya

General elections were held on August 9, 2022. Voters chose the President, representatives of the National Assembly and Senate, county governors, and members of Kenya’s 47 county legislatures.

On August 15, over a week after the Kenyan elections, current Deputy President William Ruto was declared the winner, despite uncertainties about the authenticity of the results and threats of violent protests.

“William Samoei Ruto has been lawfully elected as President of the Republic of Kenya,” the country’s Election Commission Chief, Wafula Chebukati stated on Monday.

Kenya has general elections every five years. This was the third general election and the fourth presidential election since the 2010 constitution was ratified.

According to the country’s statutes, neither the incumbent President, Uhuru Kenyatta, nor two-term county governors were eligible for a third term.

The number of presidential candidates cleared for the 2022 general election was the lowest since the multi-party system was created in 1992. All elected lawmakers will serve in Kenya’s 13th Parliament.