HomeNewsDiplomatic NewsCSTO members video conference regarding Afghanistan

CSTO members video conference regarding Afghanistan


Moscow, 24 August 2021 (TDI): The session of the Collective Security Council, Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), was held via videoconference. The session was attended by Vladimir Putin (Russian President), Emomali Rahmon (Tajik President), Nikol Pashinyan (Armenian Prime Minister), Alexander Lukashenko (Belarusian President), Kassym-Jomart Tokayev (Kazakh President), Sadyr Japarov (Kyrgyz President), Shavkat Mirziyoyev (Uzbek President) and Stanislav Zas (the Secretary-General of CSTO).

The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) is a military alliance between the post-Soviet countries. The CSTO seeks to promote national and collective security through military-political collaboration. During this extraordinary session, participants reviewed various aspects of ensuring security of CSTO member states in light of the recent developments in Afghanistan. They also emphasized the need of preventing radical Islamism from infiltrating CSTO member countries.

At the end of the session, all leaders agreed to create coordinated response measures to any threats emanating from Afghanistan. These directives are expected to be executed by September 16, when these leaders will gather again in Dushanbe for the regular session of the CSTO Collective Security Council.

Follow us


Most Popular