Buenos Aires, 25 October 2022 (TDI): The 39th session of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) began in Argentina.

Argentina will serve as chair of the organization for the next two years. the meeting was inaugurated by Alberto Fernández, President of Argentina, and Jose Manuel Salazar-Xirinachs, Executive Secretary of ECLAC.

Along with them, other participating members in the session were the Foreign Minister, International Trade and Worship of Argentina, Santiago Cafiero; and the Foreign Minister and Worship of Costa Rica, Arnoldo André Tinoco.

In addition, the Secretary for Strategic Affairs of Argentina, Mercedes Marcó del Pont; and the Resident Coordinator of the United Nations system in Argentina, Claudia Mojica also participated.

Moreover, the Secretary-General of the United Nations (UN), António Guterres, also participated in the opening ceremony of the session through a video message.

The President of Argentina stressed the importance of cooperation between nations of the Latin and Caribbean region.

He highlighted the significance of solutions to tackle the issues hampering the growth of the region, “Our nations need solutions now,” he asserted.

Also read: Latin America and Caribbean Climate week 2022 

The Executive Secretary of ECLAC presented a document after the opening ceremony, titled “Towards the transformation of the development model in Latin America and the Caribbean: production, inclusion, and sustainability”.

The agenda of the document is to build plans and policies for the effective transformation of the development models in the region.

The goal of this session is to present commitments by the countries of the region in driving sustainable growth and development.

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) is the United Nations’ regional commission for encouraging regional economic cooperation.

It was established in 1948 for the Latin America region as United Nations Economic Commission. Later in 1984, the countries of the Caribbean region were also included.

There are 46 member states in ECLAC including the countries of Latin America, the Caribbean, North America, Europe, and Asia.

The objective of the organization is to promote economic, social, and sustainable development of the Latin America and Caribbean region with international cooperation and support.