Washington DC, 2 July 2022 (TDI): The State Secretary of the US, Antony J. Blinken, stated that 54 years ago, the Treaty of the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) opened for signature in London, Moscow, and Washington, DC. on 1st of July.

The US reaffirms its commitment to this critical treaty and celebrates the immeasurable contribution it made to the security and prosperity of the nations and peoples worldwide.

According to the official statement, 1st July 2022 marked the 54th anniversary of the NPT. This treaty provides the foundation for international endeavors to stem the threat of nuclear weapons.

In addition, NPT serves the interests of all its parties and limits the potential risks of the catastrophes of nuclear wars. On the other hand, it ensures access to the immense benefits of nuclear assets for peaceful purposes like healthcare, energy, agriculture, and industries.

Upcoming NPT review conference 

He shared that the US will also highlight the enduring role of the treaty in reducing global dangers in the upcoming 10th Review Conference of the NPT. Also, the US will continue progressing towards the ultimate goal of a world without nuclear weapons.

The upcoming review conference of the NPT is scheduled to be held in August in New York from 1st-26th August. The Department of the State also collaborates with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) on this conference.

Furthermore, he emphasized that the US government looks forward to peaceful collaboration with all the parties to preserve and strengthen NPT for its uses in facilitating arms control, safeguarding friendly nuclear activities, and deterring violations.

The 10th review conference on the Treaty on Nonproliferation of Nuclear weapons will kick start on August 1 in New York
Support for safety and security

In the past, the US has safeguarded the rights of civilians from the potential threats of nuclear weapons. In addition, the US Department of the state has taken stringent steps to enact atomic nonproliferation and peaceful use of nuclear assets.

Moreover, the review conferences for NPT took place every five years from 1975 to 2015; however, the meeting for 2020 was postponed due to Covid-19 pandemic restrictions.

Currently, 190 countries have ratified this agreement. This list includes nuclear and non-nuclear states. Furthermore, the treaty requires the permanent members of the United Nations Security Council to commit to atomic discernment. These states include Britain, China, France, Russia, and United States.

North Korea pulled out of the treaty in 2003, whereas India, Israel, and Pakistan have not joined this pact.