HomeNewsDiplomatic NewsUS Joined 11 Nations in Welcoming Iraq’s Early Elections

US Joined 11 Nations in Welcoming Iraq’s Early Elections


Washington, 7 October 2021 (TDI): On Wednesday, US State Secretary Antony Blinken joined the Foreign Ministers of eleven nations to welcome Iraq’s early elections approaching October 10. The countries included Australia, Germany, Canada, New Zealand, Italy, Denmark, the Netherlands, Norway, Finland, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

The United States joined the respective governments to recognize Iraq’s early elections, besides regarding it as a critical moment for the voters to determine their future. The officials welcomed preparations of the Iraqi Independent High Electoral Commission for the October 10 election and committed to mobilizing substantial resources to maintain a fair electoral process. According to a joint statement released by the twelve respective governments, they exhibited support towards Iraq’s efforts to ensuring a safe and inclusive environment, comprising the youth, women, and internally displaced persons who have long faced intimidation in the pursuit of reform.

The government of Iraq is organizing early parliamentary elections on Sunday following the 2019’s massive protests that took place across Baghdad and the country’s southern region. Despite the increasing public distrust towards the existing political system, calls for a boycott, and struggling economy amid Covid-19, the Iraqi government will be holding the early election to meet the central demand of 2019’s intense demonstrations.


Foreign Minister of Afghanistan meets Austrian Freedom Party

Kabul, 25 September 2023 (TDI): The Foreign Minister of Afghanistan, Maulvi Amir Khan Muttaqi met with the leading members of the Austrian Freedom Party on...

Ceremony held to celebrate China’s 74th National Day

Lahore, 24 September 2023 (TDI): A ceremony was held to celebrate the 74th anniversary of China's National Day. The Governor of Punjab, Baligh-ur-Rehman, Caretaker Chief...

President Xi Jinping opens 19th Asian Games

Hangzhou, 23 September 2023 (TDI): The President of China, Xi Jinping addressed the welcoming banquet of the opening ceremony of the 19th Asian Games, in...

KSA-Israel get closer to normalizing ties

Riyadh, 23 September 2023 (TDI): Saudi Arabia's Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, has indicated that the normalization of relations with Israel is drawing closer.In an...

Follow us


Most Popular