Moscow, 8 February 2022 (TDI): Russian Federation celebrates the Day of Science on 8 February, every year. Peter the Great founded this holiday in 1724.

Indeed, Russia has produced world-renowned scholars in the field of space, chemistry, physiology, nuclear energy, and so on.

In brief, Russia is home to many scientists including Mikhail Lomonosov, Ivan Pavlov, Lev Landu, Nikolai Lobachevsky, Dmitri Mendeleev, and many others.

Ivan Pavlov

Ivan Pavlov is a world-renowned Russian scientist who worked in a systematic program of research to produce theoretical work. Consequently, he proved the theory of conditioned reflexes.

Due to his contribution, Pavlov became a member of the Russian Academy of Sciences in 1901. Then, in 1904, he claimed the Nobel Prize. Correspondingly, he is the first Russian Nobel Laureate.

He also contributed to behavioral and neurological sciences. Nonetheless, the Pavlovian method is the most advanced contribution in this field. Thereupon, behavior therapy is based on the Pavlovian method.

Accordingly, In 1907, Pavlov became Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences. He also had an honorary doctorate at Cambridge University along with honorary membership of various scientific societies. His words are as under;

“What difference does a revolution make when you have experiments to do in the laboratory!” On the other hand, in 1915, he got the award of the order of the Legion of Honour.

Dmitry Mendeleev

Dmitri Mendeleev was a Russian teacher and chemist. He was known for classifying chemical elements. Of course, Mendeleev’s investigation and knowledge of the periodic table were built on the knowledge of many other chemists.

Perhaps, every scientific contribution or discovery is based on the previous scientific work for all-inclusive results. In this matter, Dmitry Mendeleev stated that the building block of science requires both material and plan. Surely, it is essential for the symmetrical proportions of various parts of the experiment.

Sergey Korolev

Sergey Korolev is known as the founder of the Soviet Union’s program of Space. During his tenure, USSR launched the first space satellite, Sputnik, in 1957.

In addition to that, he also launched the first human in space; Yuri Gagarin. Due to his relentless efforts, Luna 9, the first spacecraft, achieved a soft landing on the moon.

Konstantin Tsiolkovsky

Konstantin Tsiolkovsky was a Russian teacher, aviation engineer, and physicist. He is considered one of the fathers of cosmonautics and rocketry.

He believed that humanity has dominated space. This phenomenon is also known as anthropocosmism. For these reasons, a far side moon crater is named after him.

And, there is a Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky State Museum in Russia. It shows the importance of his work and publications. His famous publications include Aims of Astronauts and the Investigations of Outer Space by Rocket Devices. His remarks are as follows:

“Men are weak now, and yet they transform the Earth’s surface. In millions of years, their might will increase to the extent that they will change the surface of the Earth, its oceans, the atmosphere, and themselves. They will control the climate and the solar system just as they control the Earth.

They will travel beyond the limits of our planetary system; they will reach other Suns and use their fresh energy instead of the energy of their dying luminary.”

More recently, The Bank of Russia introduced a silver commemorative coin. It was a tribute to Tsiolkovsky for his creations such as Monorail hovertrains, airships, multi-stage rockets, etc.

Igor Kurchatov

Igor Kurchatov was a Russian physicist who played an active role in the Soviet nuclear program. He is also known as ‘The Father of the Soviet Atomic Bomb.’

He also contributed to peaceful atomic energy. In this regard, he created the world’s first nuclear power station; the Obninsk Plant.

It operated for almost sixty-six years. In 2016, the F-1 research reactor turned into a museum. Thus, the Russian Federation honored him with the Russian ‘hammer and sickle’ medal.


The Russian Academy of Sciences

It is pertinent to note that Russian Science Day coincides with the establishment of the Academy of Sciences.

In 1925, the academy was called the Academy of Sciences of the USSR. But, Later-on, the Institution was renamed as Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS).

Objective of RAS

The institution conducts basic research in the field of social and natural sciences. It also contributes to the field of humanities and engineering.

The main objective of the academy is to develop the social, economic, and spiritual aspects of society. In addition, it strives to study new optics for technological and scientific progress.

Selections of Members

Moreover, the selection of the officers and members of the academy is based on elections. Furthermore, the supreme organ of the Russian Academy of sciences is the General Assembly.

It includes both the scientific fellows and academy’s members. The scientific fellows are also the delegates of the RAS institutions.

Associated Institutions, divisions, and branches

In particular, the institution has four hundred research institutions. It also has nine scientific divisions where each member works according to their portfolio and interest.

Besides, three regional branches are associated with the academy i.e., the Far East branch, the Siberian Branch, and the Ural Branch.

Regional centers

Along these lines, the organization has established thirteen regional centers i.e., Ufa, Troitsk, Saratov, St. Petersburg, Samara, Puschino, Chernogolovka, Kola, Karelian, Kazan, Kabardino-Balkarian, and Dagestan.

Foreign Partners

Above all, the administration of the academy maintains contacts with ninety foreign partners. These foreign partners are based in almost fifty-six countries. Thereupon, it is also a member of more than sixty associations and unions.

Every year, it conducts seminars and forums. Seminar upholds thematic exhibitions and events to commemorate Russian Science Day. In the same vein, the academy announces the prize for young scientists.

Head of State Award

For these reasons, the head of the state award is also given to scientists and specialists for their contributions in the field of science and innovation. In this regard, the President of Russia has established a commission that assesses the potential of worthy awardees.