New York, 11 June 2022 (TDI): Mozambique is selected as one of the non-permanent members of the United Nations (UN) Security Council.

The President of the General Assembly Abdulla Shahid announced the results on the 9th of June in Manhattan.

Mozambique together with Ecuador, Japan, Malta, and Switzerland will serve in the Security Council. The duration of the service will be a two-year term beginning 1st January 2023.

The Security Council is the organ of the United Nations that is responsible for maintaining peace and security. It does so in a variety of ways such as by promoting peaceful resolution of conflict through Preventive Diplomacy and Mediation.

The Council can also impose economic sanctions on countries that are not cooperative.

Moreover, it establishes UN Peace-keeping Operations and Special Political Missions.

There are currently 12 UN peacekeeping operations deployed by the Security Council. To secure a seat on the council, member countries should receive a two-third majority or 128 votes. During the election, 192 member countries of the UN participated in the voting process.

The Voting Procedure

The General Assembly has the power to select 10 non-permanent members for a two-year term. In the African and Asia-Pacific region, Mozambique received 192 votes, thus securing its seat on the Council. Whereas Japan received 184 votes and Mongolia received 3 votes.

Ecuador received 190 votes, Switzerland secured 187 votes and Malta received 185 votes. The President of Mozambique, Filipe Nyusi said that his country will try its best to contribute to peace-building, promoting dialogue and multilateralism.

The newly elected members will take over from Kenya, Ireland, India, Mexico, and Norway in the Security Council at the end of the year.

Furthermore, the newly elected countries will join Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, and the United Arab Emirates around the Security Council’s signature horseshoe table. This is the first ever election of both Mozambique and Switzerland to the Security Council.