Buenos Aires, 9 February 2023 (TDI): South American nations Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, and Paraguay have submitted a combined bid for the 2030 FIFA World Cup. The 4 countries had already confirmed their intentions of bidding for the tournament earlier.


They announced their decision during the lavish ceremony at the Argentine Football Association (AFA) which was attended by the officials of four countries and Alejandro Dominguez, President of the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL).

They announced their effort to bring the tournament back where it started. Approximately 100 years back, in 1930 Uruguay hosted the first Football World cup.

CONMEBOL President Alejandro said, “The 2030 World Cup is not just another World Cup, it deserves the celebration with recognition of 100 years”.

Further, he also said that FIFA has an obligation to honor the memory of those who came before us and believed in greatness.

President of the Argentine Football Association, Claudio Tapia also responded that the joint South American bid to host the 2030 tournament would fulfill the dream of all people in the football-obsessed region.

Claudio told the media that, not only on the centenary of the first edition but because of the passion with which we live football. Argentine President Alberto Fernandez also planned to propose that Bolivia join the candidacy too.

Other Competitors

As FIFA is scheduled to select a host for the 2030 World Cup next year, the competition between nations hoping to host the World cup has intensified. Spain, Portugal, and Ukraine also agreed to jointly bid for the hosting of the 2030 World Cup.

The three European Countries have strong support from the European governing body UEFA. On the other side, Saudi Arabia along with Greece, Morocco, and Egypt are also considering bids for submission.

Also read: Argentina reclaims FIFA World Cup after 36 years

The FIFA World Cup is held once every four years. Qatar became the first Middle East country to host the tournament last year.

The next tournament will be jointly hosted by the United States, Canada, and Mexico in 2026. It will be the first time that three countries will co-host the tournament.