Zurich, 1 March 2022 (TDI): FIFA and UEFA suspended Russia’s national and club teams from all international football events after reaction to President Putin’s attack on Ukraine.

Following President Vladimir Putin’s invasion of Ukraine, FIFA and UEFA announced on Monday that Russia has been excluded from the 2022 World Cup. Russian teams have been suspended from all international football tournaments “until further notice.”

The men’s squad had been due to play in qualifying playoffs in March for the World Cup in Qatar later this year. While its women’s team had qualified for the European Championship in England, to be held in July.

The announcement also affects Russian clubs involved in European events. “FIFA and UEFA have today decided together that all Russian teams, whether national representative teams or club teams, shall be suspended from participation in both FIFA and UEFA competitions.

This statement has been by the football’s international and European central bodies. On March 24, Russia was scheduled to play Poland in a World Cup qualifying playoff semifinal, with the winner going on to face Sweden or the Czech Republic for a spot in the finals on March 29. But their teams insisted they would boycott the matches.

Changed Approach

FIFA announced on Sunday that Russian teams would be allowed to continue playing under the name of the Football Union of Russia But playing home matches on neutral ground and behind closed doors, and with the Russian flag and anthem banned.

FIFA transformed its approach on Monday, kicking Russia out of the sport’s centerpiece tournament. “Football is fully united here and in full solidarity with all the people affected in Ukraine,” the declaration added.

“Both Presidents of FIFA and UEFA “Gianni Infantino and Aleksander Ceferin” hope that the condition in Ukraine will improve extensively and quickly so that football can again be a trajectory for unity and peace amongst people.” Russian squad was due to play the Netherlands, Sweden, and Switzerland in their group at the women’s Euro.