Moscow, 28 July 2022 (TDI): Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov will attend the Foreign Ministers’ meetings in the Russia-ASEAN, East Asia Summit, and ASEAN Regional Forum formats.

The 55th ASEAN Foreign Ministers’ Meeting (AMM) and related meetings will be hosted by Cambodia in Phnom Penh.

In addition to this, Cambodia will also be hosting ASEAN Post Ministerial Conferences, ASEAN Plus three Foreign Minister’s Meeting, East Asia Summit Foreign Ministers’ Meeting, and ASEAN Regional Forum from July 31 to 6 August.

Cambodia sent out invitations to all relevant Foreign Ministers. The Russian Embassy in Phnom Penh confirmed that the Russian Foreign Minister will attend the Related Meetings.

Russia has attached great importance to the development of relations with ASEAN in the Russia-ASEAN Dialogue Partnership. Along with advancement of interactions in other ASEAN-centric frameworks.

Therefore, Russia’s commitment is to further strengthen the leading role of the ASEAN in regional affairs. Also to increase the efficiency of practical cooperation in ASEAN-centric platforms.

Together with the Russia-ASEAN dialogue format. Specifically aiming at implementing the decisions adopted at the Anniversary Dialogue Partnership Summit in October 2021 and the fulfillment of the objectives of the Russian-ASEAN Year of Scientific and Technical Cooperation.

During a meeting with Japanese Ambassador to Cambodia, Mikami Masahiro, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Prak Sokhonn stated that Cambodia will try to encourage the smooth passage of discussions.

Notably, Cambodia has successfully led the ASEAN meetings in 2002, 2012, and 2022, including the Special ASEAN-US Summit in May. Furthermore, Cambodia is the ASEAN Country Coordinator for ASEAN-Russia Dialogue Relations until 2024.


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations was established in Bangkok, Thailand on 8 August 1967. That is, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN. Namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Other countries later joined and made up the current ten Member States of ASEAN. Most importantly, it is the most successful inter-governmental organization in the developing world today.

More to this, the ASEAN Charter is a strong foundation with regards to achieving the ASEAN Community through providing legal status and institutional framework for ASEAN.

Thus, the Charter codifies ASEAN norms, rules and values as well as sets clear targets for ASEAN. Additionally, it presents accountability and compliance.

All in all, the ASEAN Charter entered into force on 15 December 2008. That is, at the presence of ASEAN Foreign Ministers at the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta.