Washington D.C, 20 May 2022 (TDI): Peru will host the 52nd General Assembly of the Organization of American States after it signed the host agreement at OAS headquarters in Washington D.C.

The 52nd regular session will take place in October this year. As the host, Peru will manage the agenda and discussions. The Permanent Representative of Peru to the OAS, Ambassador Harold Forsyth, signed the host agreement with OAS Secretary-General Luis Almagro.

Previously, the Foreign Minister of Peru César Landa, announced that it will hold the 52nd General Assembly of the OAS under the theme “Together against inequality and discrimination.” Moreover, he said that Peru will attempt to include the expectations and urgent needs of the peoples of the Americas.

Furthermore, achieving economic recovery, the reduction of social gaps, and the enjoyment of effective human rights for all will be the goal.

Since its inception, Peru has been a part of the OAS and has played an active role in the organization and its specialized agencies.

Organization of American States

The Organization of American States is a regional intergovernmental organization covering the Western Hemisphere. It was founded in 1948 through US efforts to create a common political forum for the Americas.

Moreover, the organization aims to promote solidarity and cooperation among American countries. It has recently focused on election monitoring and other agendas including promoting free trade and sustainable development.

The OAS has established specialized organizations and organs for security, health, women’s affairs, human rights, trade and connectivity, and agriculture, among others.

Furthermore, the General Assembly is the highest decision-making body of the OAS. It holds an annual session bringing together the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of member countries. The General Assembly discusses and reaches agreements on issues of common interest in the continent.

Presently, Luis Almagro, an Uruguayan diplomat, and politician, is the Secretary-General.

Meanwhile, there are 35 member countries. Cuba was expelled from the organization after the Cuban Revolution.

Leave a Reply