Kerala, 29 September 2022 (TDI): India won the 1st T20 International against South Africa by eight wickets at Greenfield Stadium, Kerala, on September 28. Both teams will play three matches in the T20I series.

Playing XI of both teams

India played with Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Deepak Chahar, and Arshdeep Singh.

The South African team included Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton De Kock (WK), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, and Anrich Nortje.

Match Summary

India won the toss and put South Africa to bat first. South Africa had an abysmal start by losing five wickets inside three overs with nine runs on board.

South Africa could not make a solid partnership till the end of the innings. They scored 106 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

Keshav Maharaj scored 41 runs off 35 balls and was the top scorer for South Africa. For India, Arshdeep Singh picked up 3, and Deepak Chahar and Harshal Patel picked up two wickets each.

In response, India, too, had a slow start. India lost both openers inside seven overs on 17 runs. KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav slowly built the innings for India.

Also Read: Pakistan levels T20 series 2-2

Suryakumar Yadav was the pick of the batsmen for India. He scored 50 runs on just 33 balls at a strike rate above 151. India reached the target in the 17th over, and KL Rahul finished the match with a six to Tabraiz Shamsi.

Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje picked up one wicket each for South Africa. No other bowler could get a wicket.

The 2nd T20I of the series will be played on 2 October at Baraspara Stadium.