12th Singapore-Australia Joint Ministerial Committee meeting


Singapore, 31 August 2021 (TDI): The Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan along with Minister for Trade and Industry Gan Kim Yong and Minister for Defence Dr. Ng Eng Hen attended the 12th meeting of the Singapore-Australia Joint Ministerial Committee (SAJMC) virtually on 27th August 2021. Australia was represented by Minister for Foreign Affairs Marise Payne, Minister for Defence Peter Dutton, and Minister for Trade, Tourism, and Investment Dan Tehan.

The Ministers reiterate the great cooperation across all the five pillars of the Singapore-Australia Comprehensive Strategic Partnership, which mainly includes trade and investment, digital economy, foreign affairs, defense and security, science and innovation; and people-to-people links.

The Ministers noted the pivotal role that the SAJMC has played in driving the deep and multi-faceted cooperation between both countries. Both state’s Ministers reaffirmed the excellent state of bilateral relations, underpinned by strategic convergence and economic complementarity.

The meeting concluded with hopes of even greater cooperation and partnership between Australia and Singapore two like-minded countries with a high degree of strategic trust, especially in an environment of increasing uncertainty and complexity in regional strategic affairs.

Leave a Reply