Astana, 12 October 2022 (TDI): The Prime Minister of Pakistan, Shehbaz Sharif arrived in Kazakhstan’s capital Astana to participate in the CICA Summit 2022. The Summit is being hosted by Kazakhstan in Astana.

Yerulan Zhamaubayev, the Vice President & Finance Minister of Kazakhstan received Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif at the Nursultan Nazarbayev International Airport.

Whilst there, the Prime Minister will address the plenary meeting of the 6th CICA Summit. He will elaborate upon the significance of CICA along with highlighting Pakistan’s perspective on regional and global issues.

6th CICA Summit

The sixth Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA) conference will be hosted by Kazakhstan in Astana. The two-day conference will also mark the thirtieth anniversary of the intergovernmental organization. 

The leaders from Palestine, Qatar, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Turkey, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan are attending the summit.

Among the other guests are Belarus’s President as well as the Vice Presidents from Vietnam and China. The agenda of the Summit is to deliberate on key issues pertaining to CICA’s objectives. 

Along these lines, it will endeavor to resolve key issues pertaining to its internal mechanism and functioning along with taking into account the most pressing global issues, especially in the backdrop of the situation in Eurasia and the Middle East.

Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA)

CICA is a multinational organization with the objective of collaboration for stability, security, and peace throughout Asia.

It is based on the understanding that there is a close-knit connection between stability, peace, and security in Asia and the rest of the globe. 

Nursultan Nazarbayev, the President of Kazakhstan, first suggested the concept of holding CICA on October 5, 1992, during the 47th session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).

The driving force behind this initiative was the need to establish an effective and acceptable system for ensuring peace and security in Asia.

CICA Member states are Azerbaijan, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Egypt, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkiye, UAE, and Uzbekistan. 

The CICA Observer States include Belarus, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and the USA.

The Observer Organizations are the International Organization for Migration (IOM), the United Nations (UN), the Organization for Security & Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the League of Arab States (LAS), & the Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic States (TURKPA).