China, Pakistan establish Sister Cities, Provinces & Lake


Beijing, 13 December 2021 (TDI): Agreements were signed between China and Pakistan to establish two pairs of sister provinces, six pairs of sister cities, two pairs of sister parks, and one pair of sister lakes. In that regard, Joint Declaration on Win-win Cooperation & Common Development was issued.

The 2021 Forum on Cooperation between China and Pakistan Friendship Provinces and Cities was co-organized by CPAFFC and Pakistani Embassy in China. CPAFFC is the Chinese People’s Association for Friendship with Foreign Countries.

During the signing ceremony of the Letter of Intent, Qinghai Province, China, and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan was declared as Sister Provinces. Qinghai is a sparsely populated large Chinese province across the high-altitude Tibetan Plateau. Whereas Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is one of the four provinces of Pakistan.

Furthermore, Shenyang City of China and Karachi City of Pakistan were declared as sister cities. Shenyang is the largest and capital city of the northeast province of China, Liaoning. Whilst Karachi is the southern port city of Pakistan.

Zhengzhou and Quetta were also announced to be sister cities. Quetta is the capital of Baluchistan province, whilst Zhengzhou is the capital of Henan province of China. It is a metropolis on the Yellow River.

Besides, the ceremony also included the Signing Ceremony of The Letter of Intent on establishing Sister City relation between Xining City of China and Peshawar City of Pakistan. Xining is the capital of central Chinese Qinghai province, by the Tibetan Plateau. Whereas Peshawar is the capital city of the Khyber Pakhtunkwa province.

In addition, sisterly relations were established between Zhengzhou Botanical Garden of China and Ayub National Park of Pakistan, Three-River-Source National Park of China and Lal Suhanra National Park of Pakistan, Qinghai Lake of China, and Keenjhar Lake of Pakistan.

Furthermore, sister city relation was also declared between Pingdingshan City, China, and Multan, Pakistan as well as Dongying City, China, and Gujranwala, Pakistan.

Leave a Reply