Canberra, 23 May 2022 (TDI): Australia’s new Prime Minister was sworn in on Monday after the election, before departing for Japan to meet with US President Joe Biden and other foreign leaders.

Labor Party leader Anthony Albanese won the general election on Saturday, bringing an end to almost a decade of conservative rule. The 2022 election was held on the 21st of May to elect members of the 47th parliament of Australia.

The incumbent liberal national coalition government, led by Prime Minister Scott Morrison sought to win a 4th consecutive term in office. Millions of Australians headed to the polls on Saturday for the country’s first election since 2019.

Former Prime Minister Scott Morrison contested against one of the country’s longest-serving politicians, Labour leader Anthony Albanese, who won and became the new Prime Minister of Australia.

Scott Morrison led the Liberal national coalition and was the first leader to serve a full term in office since John Howard. Scott Morrison became the 30th Prime Minister on 24th August 2018 after a takeover from Malcolm Turnbull.

Morrison had previously served as Treasurer, Minister of Social Services, and Minister for Border Protection, and was first elected to the parliament as the Federal Member for Cook in 2007.

Morrison has led Australia through its difficult periods dominated by natural disasters and the pandemic. Anthony Albanese, his rival and the winner of the election is the leader of Australia’s Center-Left Labor Party.

Albanese enjoys a reputation as a defender of Australia’s free health care system, a republican, a passionate rugby lead fan, and serving the labor party from a very young age.

He actively participated in both federal and state politics before he was elected as a member of parliament on his 33rd birthday. In 2007, he was chosen as the Minister of Infrastructure and Transport.

Albanese’s first message after the victory

Prime Minister Albanese expressed his gratitude and shared his objectives and goals as the new leader of Australia.

The political history of Australia

Politically Australia is a federal parliamentary monarchy, comprising six states and ten territories. Canberra is the national capital while Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, and Adelaide are the major cities.

Australia is a highly developed country with a high-income economy, the world’s tenth-highest per capita income, the 13th largest economy, and the 8th highest human development index.

Maintaining its stature as a regional power country has the 13th highest military ranks highly in quality of life, democracy, health, civil liberties, education, political rights, and economic freedom. of nations

Australia is a member of international organizations like the United Nations, the G20, OECD, the WTO, ANZUS, AUKUS, Five Eyes, the QUAD, APEC, the Pacific Island Forum, the pacific community, and the common wealth of nations.

In January 1901 federation of the colonies was achieved after a hard work of a decade resulting in the establishment of the Commonwealth of Australia as a nation and the entering into the constitutional regimen.

The federal capital territory was formed in 1911. In 1914 Australia joined the allies in the first world war and subsequently, partnered with the allies in the second world war too Britain was defeated Australia shifted its loyalty and dependency on the unites states for its security.

Australia is a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy with a liberal democratic political system. Power is divided between federal and state, and territorial government.  The Australian federal government is separated into three categories legislature, executive, and judiciary.

Australia has six states and under the constitution states have plenary legislative power whereas the commonwealth federal parliament may legislate but does not have any specific powers. The states are sovereign entities although subject to certain powers of the common wealth as defined by the constitution.

Election in Australia

The first election was conducted on the basis of state law the number of members elected was 75 as prescribed by the constitution. The first election was held on the 29th and 30th March 1901 and the parliament was summoned and they first met on the 9th of May 1901.

Following the enactment of the constitution on 9th July 1900 and before the election for the first parliament, the opportunity was given to the state parliament under the constitution to make laws determining the divisions for each state for which members of the house were to be chosen for each division with the limitation imposed by the constitution. If a state failed to make a determination, the state was to be considered to be one electorate.

Leave a Reply